My blog, my wargaming life, my ramblings…

Welcome all to my slightly unhinged world of model miniatures. A number of people who stumble across this site may know of me for my ‘work’ in the arena of 6mm wargaming. Those that know me better understand the insanity goes far deeper and I collect, paint, and game in a host of scales and periods. It is fair to say I have the affliction known as the ‘Oooh shiney’ complex, and a lead pile to confirm the diagnosis.

In the fullness of time I hope to share some of the many distractions and diversions my ‘hobby’ takes me on. For now I would like to focus on the main projects that creep along inbetween work and family life, and reflect of some of the recent activity I have had the pleasure of being involved in.

It is fair to say that I have a passion for 6mm, although as mentioned before it is not to the exclusion of other scales by a long measure. I like it mainly for the mass and dioramic effect that can be achieved. My affliction with little lead men began over 30 years ago with the old GW ‘Forces of Fantasy’ that was latterly to be known as warhammer. I had my first interest in the small scales with GW’s Space Marine (now Epic Armageddon) and Warmaster. There was a little dry period during my clinical years at university and my interest was rekindled at Derby Wargames show in the late 90’s by Keith and Ian (the now expanded retinue known as the Boondock Saints). I liked the look of their 6mm GNW games and the style in which they were played, dice in one hand and a glass of a nice vintage red in the other.

From then on Derby was a firm fixture in the calender each year. Before long I was bringing along a selection of wines for the weekend. They moved from GNW to the SYW period and for several years Ian probed the question of when Peter (Baccus miniatures) was going to do an Ottoman range, him being a little keen on wargaming the Seige of Vienna (1683). One year I suggested that I could have a go at sculpting and after a couple of conversion attempts on some Zoaves.

Some helpful pointers from Peter, and the passage of a year or so the first installment of the Ottoman army was born in the form of the Janissaries.

Earlier this year the Ottoman artillery crew were done but the lead I had used melted in the master mould. All was not lost as I fortunately do my own cold cure proof moulds (you will be suprised how many bits I have miss off that you pick up when painiting up the proofs), so its just back a step with no need to completely resculpting them.

The Levant infantry are near completion and challenge the perception that ‘you can’t get variety in 6mm’ as there is already 18 poses in the series, with an additional few I would like to do following discussions at the weekend. If all works out there will be 8 varieties of musket armed Levant (2 sets of 4 strips) available in the ‘skirmish’ pack, with a further musketeer in a more formed pose. There will also be command, halberd and shield, sword and shield, and sword and buckler troops.

With a fair wind these may be available before Christmas (and if you paint them in green coats, with traditional red hat with white band, you too can make them look like Santa’s little helpers).

….. and because I could not resist…

DISCLAIMER

As wargamers we are increasingly serviced with ever expanding ranges, poses, and detail. I hope I am pushing the boundaries a bit with what I am doing with the Ottoman range. Although I have one eye on how what I am sculpting may meet the strip production requirements for Peter, I approach sculpting by trying to create what I would like for my own use along with challenging myself with what I can sculpt. The result of this is that some of the sculpts pictured here will not made the cut so to speak (and this is a combined decision with Peter).

I would like to thank Peter at Baccus for his ongoing support as he has been very accomodating in bringing this range to you. I am aware I have broken a number of his golden rules about producing a new range, and ask that people bear with me. Sculpting is a part of the hobby as a whole for me and is subject to pressure from work, young family, and my other wargaming interests (I like to paint and play games too!). The Ottoman range is also one that one could easily expand geographically along with chronologically. The troops so far have been aimed to meet the needs of the 17th-18th Century, but when the inital range is complete the additon of the Nizam infantry would take us into the 19th Century and Napoleons campaigns in Egypt.

This entry was posted in General.

3 comments on “My blog, my wargaming life, my ramblings…

  1. SaigonSaddler says:

    Absolutely brilliant and inspiring material! I am now based in Bangkok – so had to leave my paints and figs back in the UK. But now I am in a position to exact revenge on the acres of lead (well, when it’s sent over). I am now a ‘follower’ of this blog – maybe a disciple is a better phrase though due to it’s spiritual content. Cheers! Matt

  2. Steve Kling says:

    Wonderful work on the Ottomans. The posing is great and animated and varied enough to look like units of troops. I would suspect some of your work could easily (relatively) carry over to some other new ranges like Indian Mutiny, Boxer Rebellion, etc. I hope you keep up with it and I look forward to your new Ottoman releases (just saw the ones on the Baccus site)

    • cranium27 says:

      I am pretty pleased with them. It was a set which continued to expand the more I talked with Ian from the Boondock Saints. I deliberatley tried to do a host of differnet poses and was very suprised that in the end fully all 30 different sculpts were used in the Levant range. The Boondock Saints have used many of the ones I cast for them as Persians and will feature in the Siege of Baghdad planned for derby this year.
      I have also just taken delivery of 36 horse dollys having had a small dabble at cavalry just before Christmas….

Leave a Reply

